Can Christian’s enjoy Yoga?

Just like many women I thought I would look at doing some exercise. I was interested in a few different idea’s. A Christian friend of mine was thinking of joining a yoga class and asked for my opinion. I always had an ick kind of feeling about the thought of joining a mystic type yoga class and the more I looked into it, the more I wanted to stay away from it. Hinduism and also New Ageism seems to be creeping it’s way into our modern culture and Yoga is becoming very popular in the west. I certainly don’t fully agree with everything said on this video but I certainly do believe in being cautious when it comes to spiritual matters. I don’t think all Yoga is a simple way to stretch and be healthy I feel there is a lot more to it than that. There are lots of different types of Yoga but it is essentially derived from Hinduism and in the very least at it’s core has a spiritual element. That spiritual element is not based on Jesus or in Christianity. Since I am a Christian I don’t believe that there are many different God’s or I am my own divine God or I will be reincarnated. I also don’t want to be meditating on anything but my Lord and Saviour. I don’t want to hum, meditate or pose my physical body to represent idols or false Deity’s. Really Yoga is not for me. As a Christian we don’t play “Christian” tennis or “Christian” baseball but none of those sports have a mystic or spiritual element. With everything it is good to research, test and look into things for yourself. Perhaps there maybe a way to do pure “Christian” Yoga? Although once you know the history of Yoga it might be tricky to get your head around it? So as far as yoga goes, I won’t be doing any yoga classes but I will have a look at biking, hiking and swimming (swimming if the weather ever gets warm enough?) Hmmmm… maybe Pilates but I will have to do a little research on that too. I hope you find this video interesting and thought provoking. Hope you are having a lovely day 🙂
~ Sarah xxx

Do you have any more questions regarding Yoga? Click HERE

