When the ground shakes

I am reminded of Romans 15:13 scripture… “May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in Him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.”

This scripture is a beautiful reminder that in spite of circumstance or what we see around us or our frame of mind, we can trust and rely on God and know that He is our joy and peace. Even when it doesn’t feel like it and the ground is shaky.

My home town in Christchurch, New Zealand had another earth quake today. This one is far worse than many other after shocks and earth quakes Christchurch has had previously. In school at age 5 you are taught about earthquakes and you are taught to hide under school desks in an emergency. Our immediate family currently lives in Australia and we have recently come through floods and Cyclone Yasi. But of course we still have friends and family who still live in Christchurch are going through a hard time right now. I have heard from most of my loved ones and they are safe but I haven’t heard from my oldest friends yet. We started school together at age 5. Her family live in the city in an apartment so I am very concerned for her and her young family at the moment.

I don’t have the answers to this devastation but I know the one who does. What do you do when the very ground underneath you can’t be trusted and shakes? What do you do when the ground is swaying and rattling. When buildings are turning to rubble in front of your eyes. What do you do? What can you say? All I can think is that we can hope and trust in the Lord through the Holy Spirit. When devastation, fear or hard times hit sometimes you can’t get your head around it all and you don’t have the answers. During these times all I can do is to surrender my head, heart, fear to God and trust in Him and know He is always good no matter what. I can’t do it in my own strength only through the power of the Holy Spirit.

My love, thoughts and prayers are with Christchurch today.

6 thoughts on “When the ground shakes

  1. I haven’t seen the news lately so I hadn’t heard about the earthquake at Christchurch. Will be praying for all, especially your friends. Thanks for reminding us that God knows, God cares, and God will carry us.

    Hugs

    • Thanks Alva Lee. Still just one friend to hear from. Pretty shocking stuff. The place where Chris and I were married has become rubble. The last few months here in Queensland we have had floods and a cyclone and now my home town devastated. Crazy world we live in.

    • We are very blessed to be in Australia ATM 🙂

      My cousin’s young daughter was on a school trip in the city when the earth quake happened. She saw stuff a little girl need not see, thankfully she is ok. It took three hours for her to get home. She is alive, home safe and sound. It was the longest three hours of her Mum’s life.

  2. The verse you started with caught my attention. I love that verse. When all seems hopeless and life is most difficult, God comes through because He is the God of hope. I am a pastor’s wife too- actually I am licensed also but my role at this point is really one more of pastor’s wife.
    Saying a prayer for Christchurch.

    • Hi Gloria,
      Lovely to see your comment. Thanks for your prayers for Christchurch too. The after shakes and smaller quakes are taking it’s toll. Blessings to you and your family 🙂

Leave a Reply

