Recipe – The Best Sloppy Joes

20120708-182633.jpg

SOURCE

Love this recipe from HERE at Mel’s Kitchen! I sometimes will add a fried egg, slice of colby cheese, and pickled sliced beet root into my Sloppy Joey’s. Oh… and if you feel like adding bacon it really is super yummy. I know it is sounding like a heart attack on a plate. BUT this isn’t a every day kind of dish, it’s a yummy meal made at home and way better than getting take out, because you know what you have put in it. I have used half turkey half mince (ground beef) on flat GF bread and that is yummy too and quite healthy when you add a salad. For the BBQ sauce I love, absolutely LOVE the gluten free “Dad’s BBQ Source” it is second to none for flavour. This basic recipe is fab and doesn’t need all the extra’s but my family likes the added bits. Hope you enjoy it.
~ Sarah xxx

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

*Freezable Meals: The leftover sloppy joes can be frozen. I store it in a freezer-safe container and then thaw in the refrigerator prior to serving. I reheat on medium-low heat in a saucepan on the stove. To get to Mel click HERE

4 thoughts on “Recipe – The Best Sloppy Joes

  1. All that’s missing is your favorite slice of cheese… MAine is provolone. Yum!

    Thanks for the recipe… I short cut by using Hunt’s Manwich… sad to say I keep all the ingredients in the cupboard so… I will have to do it long hand.

    • Nothing wrong with short cuts! Yum provolone …. I love lots of different cheeses I probably couldn’t pick just one.

      In Australia and New Zealand our cows are grass fed so our cheese taste quite different to USA cheese, milk and meat. In the USA I think they are mainly grain feed because of the weather. When I lived in Ohio it took ages for us to get use to the different flavour of meat, milk and cheese. I used to buy a Swiss cheese from Costco but can’t remember the brand name but it was a family fav :-)

Leave a Reply

